Lee Holdsworth quickest at Pukekohe Park Raceway

Lee Holdsworth quickest at Pukekohe Park Raceway
WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint Event 4 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Phillip Island, Victoria. Australia. 12th-14th April 2019.

Lee Holdsworth has edged closer to his first podium finish in 1987 days, after clocking the fastest ever lap at Pukekohe Park Raceway in today’s second practice session for the ITM Auckland SuperSprint.

The Bottle-O Mustang driver, who last stood on the podium as a winner at Winton in April 2014, was quickest in drying conditions this afternoon ahead of Auckland-born Red Bull Holden Ace Shane van Gisbergen and Milwaukee Racing Mustang’s Will Davison.

Holdsworth’s record-breaking effort in P2 topped a clean sweep for Tickford Racing drivers, with Davison the quickest in P1 earlier today.

“It was lit, the car is good. We did some changes there and it came out alive,” Holdsworth said.

“We came here with a pretty nice base car so we have just been searching for that little bit extra to get us up into the top three. I feel like we have really found something now, we will wait and see now.

“This track is super quick at the moment and it is only going to get faster and faster. I am stoked. I could hope for a better start to the weekend, now we just have to follow it through.”

Friday the 13th proved unlucky for defending Virgin Australia Supercars Champion Scott McLaughlin though, with his Shell V-Power Mustang starter motor not working in the opening stages of P2.

His team rallied in his 100th career round start and had the runaway series leader on track late, where he managed to clock the 7th quickest lap of the session.

“We didn’t get as many laps in as we wanted but it was alright. At least we got back out, the boys were all over it. But I was holding on, it’s hard work around here,” the runaway Championship leader said.

Behind the top three this afternoon the Holden’s of David Reynolds, Nick Percat and Jamie Whincup were four, five-six. In front of McLaughlin, Anton De Pasquale, Fabian Coulthard and Scott Pye.

McLaughlin will put this afternoon’s engine drama behind him for qualifying tomorrow as he chases his 15th pole position of 2019 and a potentially record-breaking 17th race win of the year.

You can see all of  tomorrows action from Pukekohe,  on Foxtel kicking off at 11 am with Practice followed by Qualifying.

Lee Holdsworth quickest at Pukekohe Park Raceway
Lee Holdsworth sets a new lap record to be fastest at the end of Fridays practice for the ITM Auckland SuperSprint Event 11 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Pukekohe, Auckland. New Zealand. 13th Sep 2019

Source:  Supercars Australia

Spend your Sunday poolside sipping Veuve Clicquot at W Brisbane