Red Bull Racing Celebrates Stellar Debut Season


It’s official! Red Bull Racing Australia has completed a fairy tale debut season in V8 Supercars by claiming the 2013 driver and teams championships on the streets of Sydney Sunday afternoon. “Unbelievable,” said an elated Whincup. “No. 5 – I can’t believe it. It’s a massive deal. We dedicate our lives to sport and this is what for. “It’s just a huge team effort. It’s been a tough year with this new car. And a big thanks goes to Lowndes. It’s just as much his as it is mine. We worked really hard together on these cars and to get the 1-2, it couldn’t be any better.” Lowndes was one of a select few near on par with his team-mate and driving like a man possessed got himself into contention to steal the crown with the required top-five finish. But Whincup qualified quickest, had track position and never gave it up to finish a safe but narrow third – minus a few heart-attack moments – and become the youngest driver ever to notch up five championships. Regardless, Lowndes and Whincup undoubtedly established themselves as the two best drivers of the 2013 season and have the spoils to prove it. “He was a champ and he deserved it,” Lowndes said. “We have got a great relationship and work very hard together to make sure both cars are up the front. He had a great run today and what a helluva year.” CASEY STONER, DEVELOPMENT SERIES Two-time MotoGP champion Casey Stoner signed off his debut season on four wheels with a top-10 finish. The 28-year-old suffered a trying initiation to V8 Supercars, with many of the seven rounds he contested in the Dunlop Development Series plagued with safety cars and incidents. “I would have liked more time in the car, for sure, but I’ve enjoyed the challenge of driving and I can’t thank Pirtek, Red Bull, all my sponsors and fans for supporting me this year,” Stoner said. “I feel sorry for the team because I don’t think we ever really got to show our true potential but this weekend the car was great.” Race Results: 1. Shane van Gisbergen  – TEKNO Team VIP Petfoods – 1:28.9 2. Jason Bright – Team BOC – 1:29.4 3. Jamie Whincup – Red Bull Racing Australia – 1:29.0 4. David Reynolds – The Bottle-O FPR Ford – 1:29.5 5. Craig Lowndes – Red Bull Racing Australia – 1:29.7 6. Mark Winterbottom – Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford – 1:29.3 7. Will Davison – Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford – 1:29.6 8. Alex Davison – Jeld-wen FPR Ford – 1:29.9 9. Chaz Mostert – Wilson Security Racing – 1:29.8 10. Russell Ingall – Supercheap Auto Racing – 1:29.5]]>

What's Your Reaction?

All Things Gold Coast and More


Copyright © 2019, GCMAG All Rights Reserved | EST in 2007