WSL Announces the competitor lineup for 2022 Championship


This morning the World Surf League confirmed the official competitor lists for the 2022 Championship Tour, contested by the world’s best surfers and determined by the top-ranking finishers on the CT in 2021 and the Challenger Series and including a couple of wildcards.

Starting in January, the qualifiers will compete in a newly designed CT framework for the first time. Male and female surfers will compete at the same CT venues with equal competitions and equal prize money.

The new format also introduces the midseason cut and will conclude at the Rip Curl WSL Finals, where the final five men and women will once again battle it out for the coveted World Title.

“We’re thrilled to confirm the 2022 Championship Tour class,” said Jessi Miley-Dyer, SVP of Tours and Head of Competition. “These are the world’s best surfers, and we’re excited to see them compete in a new format, battling for a spot at the 2022 Rip Curl WSL Finals. This upcoming season will be historic and full of firsts as we’ll have the first completely combined CT season for the men and women, including the first women’s CT competition at Pipe, the return of G-Land in the CT calendar after 24 years, and the midseason cut. This will definitely be a season to remember, and we can’t wait to have our fans join us on this journey.”

The men’s 2022 Championship Tour will be contested by the WSL Top 36, made up of:

  • The Top 20 finishers on the 2021 CT rankings
  • The Top 12 finishers on the 2021 Challenger Series
  • Two WSL season wildcards
  • Two event wildcards

The women’s 2022 Championship Tour will be contested by the WSL Top 18 made up of:

  • The Top nine finishers on the 2021 CT rankings
  • The Top six finishers on the 2021 Challenger Series
  • Two WSL season wildcards
  • One event wildcard

Besides the WSL Wildcards announced for the season, the WSL Tours and Competition Team are also assigning one WSL Replacement for men’s competitions and one for the women’s competitions. The WSL Replacement surfer will surf amongst the world’s best when a CT surfer withdraws from the competition.

The WSL Replacement spot will only be available at the first five stops of the season, before the midseason cut. The 2022 WSL Replacements are Bronte Macaulay (AUS) and Matthew McGillivray (ZAF).

With new venues and a revamped Tour structure, the 2022 CT season will start with 36 men and 18 women. Halfway through the season, the field will be reduced to 24 men and 12 women. The top-ranked surfers will automatically requalify for the 2023 CT as well as continue on to the second half of the Tour, where they will be joined by two men’s wildcards and two women’s wildcards (one season wildcard and one event wildcard).

Women’s 2022 Championship Tour Qualifiers

Top 9 Qualifiers from 2021 CT Rankings

– Carissa Moore (HAW)

– Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)

– Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

– Johanne Defay (FRA)

– Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

– Caroline Marks (USA)

– Tyler Wright (AUS)

– Isabella Nichols (AUS)

– Courtney Conlogue (USA)

Top 6 Qualifiers from 2021 CS Rankings

– Gabriela Bryan (HAW)

– Brisa Hennessy (CRI)

– Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW)

– Caitlin Simmers (USA)

– India Robinson (AUS)

– Luana Silva (HAW)

WSL Season Wildcards

– Lakey Peterson (USA)

– Malia Manuel (HAW)

WSL Replacement

– Bronte Macaulay (AUS)

HOSSEGOR, FRANCE – OCTOBER 23 : Connor O’Leary of Australia during Final at the Quiksilver Pro France on October 23, 2021 in Hossegor, France. (Photo by Laurent Masurel/World Surf League)

Men’s 2022 Championship Tour Qualifiers

Top 20 Qualifiers from 2021 CT Rankings

– Gabriel Medina (BRA)

– Filipe Toledo (BRA)

– Italo Ferreira (BRA)

– Conner Coffin (USA)

– Morgan Cibilic (AUS)

– Griffin Colapinto (USA)

– Jordy Smith (ZAF)

– Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)

– Yago Dora (BRA)

– Frederico Morais (PRT)

– John John Florence (HAW)

– Jack Robinson (AUS)

– Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)

– Deivid Silva (BRA)

– Ryan Callinan (AUS)

– Ethan Ewing (AUS)

– Kelly Slater (USA)

– Jadson Andre (BRA)

– Miguel Pupo (BRA)

– Seth Moniz (HAW)

Top 12 Qualifiers from 2021 CS Rankings

– Ezekiel Lau (HAW)

– Liam O’Brien (AUS)

– Connor O’Leary (AUS)

– Jake Marshall (USA)

– Callum Robson (AUS)

– Samuel Pupo (BRA)

– Nat Young (USA)

– Imaikalani Devault (HAW)

– Lucca Mesinas (PER)

– Joao Chianca (BRA)

– Jackson Baker (AUS)

– Carlos Munoz (CRI)

WSL Season Wildcards

– Kolohe Andino (USA)

– Owen Wright (AUS)

WSL Replacement

– Matthew McGillivray (ZAF)

You May Also Like